Welcome to The Community Guide! Let us know what you think of the website by completing this quick survey.

CPSTF Welcomes New Members

The Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) welcomes four public health and clinical professionals who were appointed by the CDC Director in 2020 to serve five-year terms on the CPSTF, starting in 2022. New members have expertise in a wide range of topics including health disparities and social determinants of health, mental health, and substance use – areas that have been prioritized for Community Guide systematic reviews between 2020-2025.

New Members Starting in January 2022

Susan M. Kansagra, MD, MBA
Acting Deputy State Health Officer and Senior Deputy Director, North Carolina Division of Public Health

Michael A. Lindsey, PhD, MSW, MPH
Executive Director of the McSilver Institute for Poverty Policy and Research at New York University (NYU); Constance and Martin Silver Professor of Poverty Studies at NYU Silver School of Social Work

Joy Melnikow, MD, MPH
Director of the Center for Healthcare Policy and Research; Professor of Family and Community Medicine at the University of California, Davis

Peter A. Wyman, PhD
Professor and Academic Chief, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Rochester School of Medicine

The CPSTF is an independent, nonfederal panel of 15 public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and other interventions aimed at improving population health. CPSTF members represent a broad range of research, practice, and policy expertise in community preventive services, public health, health promotion, and disease prevention.